4.1.4. Deployment

When you are setting up your channels, you're working in a sandbox that is separate from the production systems, so that you can make any changes or tests you want without any risk to the production system and your production flow of messages.

When you are satisfied with the changes and want them to take effect for the production messages, you have to deploy your environment. Only at this time, the new setup is migrated to the servers that handle your production messages.

Please also note that the deployment always affects your whole environment. It is not possible to deploy changes for only one channel.

Keep also in mind that any server, email address, etc. defined in incoming and outgoing gateways is only created during deployment. A new incoming email address for example will not be available and any email sent to that address will generate an error before deployment.

You can access the deployment screen from the list of channels or from the detail of a channel. In the top right corner, there is information about the deployment status of your channel

Channel status and deploy action

Figure 4.7. Channel status and deploy action


Status

The status tells if a channel is currently deployed in production ( On ) or not ( Off ).

Deploy action

By clicking on it, you will open the deployment screen. A tooltip will inform you about which kind of change will be applied to the production systems at next deployment.

  • to start the channel: channel is currently not deployed, but will be after next deployment.
  • to apply the changes you made: channel is currently activated and modifications will be applied at deployment.
  • to stop the channel: channel is currently deployed, but will be undeployed at next deployment.

If the deploy action is disabled, a tooltip will describe the reason :

  • because no changes have been made to this channel
  • because the channel is disabled: You can enabled it in the General tab (See the channel detail ).
    Channel Disabled

    Figure 4.8. Channel Disabled


  • because it contains errors: Follow the exclamation marks to see where errors are.
    Contains Errors

    Figure 4.9. Contains Errors


Before the deployment takes effect, a summary of the things that will be changed on your production system will be displayed. The changes are displayed in a grid, one affected channel by line. For all the channels, the 3 last fields describe the changes:

Deployment confirmation

Figure 4.10. Deployment confirmation


On this screen, the following two advanced functions are also available:

Run tests

When deploying, the system automatically reruns all test cases of the affected channels, and forbids the deployment if some test cases are in error. The goal of this operation is to guarantee that you don't deploy by accident a channel that is not functional. If you are really sure of what you are doing, you can decide not to run the tests. In very large environments, this can result in big performance improvement, but at the cost of being sure that the channels pass the tests.

Full provisioning

The system performs by default incremental provisioning: only the changed channels and configurations are resent to the production system. This option allows to completely undeploy and redeploy your environment.

Advanced Options

Figure 4.11. Advanced Options


Advanced Deploy

Figure 4.12. Advanced Deploy